audio close compressed excel image menu pdf video word

Our people


Our board, executive and investment teams have extensive industry experience including financial and investment expertise.

Board Members

Rupert Myer AOChairman and Independent Non-Executive DirectorBCom (Hons) (Melb), MA (Cantab)

Chairman of the Investment Committee.

My Myer was elected to the Board in January 2000 and appointed Chairman in 2020. Currently, he is President of The Myer Foundation Board, Chairman of the Yulgilbar Group and a Director of eCargo Holdings Limited, Mutual Trust Pty Limited, Myer Family Investments Pty Ltd and EV Cargo Limited. Mr Myer is a member of EmergeVest as a Senior Advisor. Mr Myer was formerly Deputy Chairman of Myer Holdings Ltd, a former Director of Diversified United Investments Limited and Healthscope Limited.

Mark FreemanManaging DirectorBE, MBA, Grad Dip App Fin (Sec Inst), AMP (INSEAD)

Managing Director and Member of the Investment Committee.

Mr Freeman became Chief Executive Officer & Managing Director in January 2018 having been Chief Investment Officer since joining the Company in February 2007. Prior to this he was a Partner with Goldman Sachs JBWere where he spent 12 years advising the Investment Companies on their investment and dealing activities. He has a deep knowledge and experience of investments markets and the Company’s approaches, policies and processes. He is also Managing Director of AFIC, Djerriwarrh Investments Limited and Mirrabooka Investments Limited.

Jodie AusterIndependent Non-Executive Director...

Dr Auster is currently Regional General Manager for Asia Pacific for Uber Eats. Prior to this Dr Auster was a Director of Customer Operations and Vice President People for Thumbtack and a consultant for Bain & Company. Jodie has extensive experience in companies based on global technology platforms. She has also led several start up businesses to achieve scale.

Roger G BrownIndependent Non-Executive DirectorB.Eng, MBA

Member of the Investment Committee.

Mr Brown was appointed to the Board in February 2014. He has been the Non-Executive Chairman of ARB Corporation Limited since 2016. Mr Brown also held the position of Executive Chairman of the company from 1987 to 2016.

Mr Brown has wide experience as a CEO and Director and brings to the company a wealth of knowledge from ARB Corporation’s involvement in the automotive industry in Australia and overseas.

Michael J HirstIndependent Non-Executive DirectorB Com (Melb), SF Fin

Chairman of the Audit Committee.

Mr Hirst joined the Board in January 2019. He is a Director of GMHBA Limited,, GMHBA Services Limited, BUTN Limited, National COVID-19 Co-ordination Commission and Deputy Chairman of Racing Victoria Limited. He was Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of Bendigo and Adelaide Bank Ltd from 2009 to 2018. He previously held senior executive and management positions with Colonial Limited, Chase AMP Bank Limited and Westpac Banking Corporation. He is an honorary member of the Business Council of Australia.

Siobhan L McKennaIndependent Non-Executive DirectorB.Ec. (Hons) MPHIL

Member of the Audit Committee.

Ms McKenna joined the Board in March 2016. Siobhan has a significant international background in strategy and policy in the public and private sectors. As an executive she has led consumer facing businesses in the media and digital sectors. She was a Commissioner of the Australian Productivity Commission and a Partner of McKinsey & Company.

She is Chairman of Foxtel, Fox Sports and Australian News Channel, a Non-Executive Director of Woolworths Limited, and a Director of Nova Entertainment.

Jon Webster AMIndependent Non-Executive DirectorBCom, LLB (Hons) LLM

Member of the Audit and Investment Committees.

Mr Webster was appointed to the Board in November 2016. Mr Webster is a consultant at Allens having been a partner of Allens practicing in the area of Corporate Law and Governance for over 30 years and was a Board member of Allens for 12 years. He is a Trustee of the R E Ross Trust and a Director of Hillview Quarries Pty Ltd. He is a former Chairman of the Audit Committee of the Northern Land Council, Chairman of the Corporations Committee of the Law Council of Australia, a former Director of the Human Rights Law Centre and a former member of the ASX's Listings Advisory Panel and of the Federal Government's Consultative Group to the Corporations Law Simplification Task Force.

Executive Team

Geoffrey N DriverGeneral Manager Business Development and Investor RelationsB Ec, Grad Dip Finance, MAICD

Mr Driver joined the Company in January 2003. Previously, he was with National Australia Bank Ltd for 18 years in various roles covering business strategy, marketing, distribution, investor relations and business operations. Mr Driver was formerly Chairman of Trust for Nature (Victoria).

Andrew JB PorterChief Financial Officer/Company SecretaryMA (Hons) (St And), FCA, MAICD

Mr Porter joined the Company in January 2005. He is a Chartered Accountant and has had over 24 years experience in accounting and financial management both in the United Kingdom with Andersen Consulting and Credit Suisse First Boston, and in Australia where he was Regional Chief Operating Officer for the Corporate and Investment Banking Division of CSFB. He is the immediate former Chair of The Group of 100 (G100), the peak body for CFOs and remains on the Board, is a Director of the Auditing and Assurance Standards Board (AUASB) and a Director of the Anglican Foundation.

Matthew J RoweCompany SecretaryBA (Hons), MSc Corp Gov, FGIA, FCG

Mr Rowe joined the Company in July 2016. He is a Chartered Secretary with over 15 years of experience in corporate governance with a particular focus in listed investment companies. He was previously a corporate governance advisor at a professional services firm which included acting as Company Secretary for three ASX listed companies. Prior to that Matthew was the Company Secretarial Manager for a Funds Management Company based in the UK.